Skip to content

What does the resurrection mean?

March 23, 2008

Today around the world Christians have celebrated the resurrection of Christ. Without the resurrection the birth and death of Christ do not hold much importance. It is through the resurrection that Christ conquered death and brought us new life. Through the day today my mind has repeatedly returned to what the resurrection really means to my life.

I went to two different church services today and I walked away uninspired. The services were fine, and the content of the messages was okay, but as I sat in the services I listened to hear a message that God had changed lives, that the resurrection really made a difference, and that people were so deeply in love with Christ that there was nothing better in the world. I didn’t hear it. You see I am tired of listening to sermons about Jesus, singing songs about Jesus, talking about Jesus, and not living a life for Jesus. I want to be a part of something where people are inspired and in love with God. I want to be a part of something where we stop looking at ourselves and serving ourselves and giving our lives up for someone or something else. Over the last few months God has so dramatically changed my life and I can’t be quiet about it any longer. I can’t sit still and not live a life that is sold out and surrendered to God.

Empty tomb

So, what does the resurrection mean to you? Is your life different because of it, or are you living a life that doesn’t testify of God to others? Can others see that your life has changed or that you are different from non-Christians because of your relationship with Christ?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 8:55 am

    Dear Sherie. I understand how you feel. I go to 3 services a week. One is the youth service on fridays, church service on sundays, and another young people service after the sunday service. And the only time, that inspires me is when my youth leader talk. I now understand why the adults in my church, besides the elders… are so tired and worn out. doesnt our inside man get renewed as each day goes by? We spend so much of time with hobbies and work, but we treat god like a backup… i do not understand at all. You should see our youth service. We are so fired up for god, because in this era, the young people face so much of trauma… We are practically broken by this world. Christ gives us something better to look forward to each moment. Tha dults hate it when we young people jump and dance and yell prasing God. Everything is prim and proper. They have forgotten David,so couldnt care less. As long as The Lord is pleased. My boyfriend’s mum mentioned about Joyce Meyer’s relationship with God as enviable. But isnt it there for us too?? Im waiting for the day I see christ like i see everything else. The purest of relationships. And a revival of spirit everyday.

  2. March 28, 2008 8:12 pm

    Thanks for the comment, I am glad you can relate to what I am feeling but sad about that at the same time. Sometimes I just want to wake people up because it feels like they are sleeping. We can have a personal relationship with the maker of all creation, and he loves us so deeply he would send a part of himself to us and then let that part be killed. Why aren’t we excited about that and living with joy and hope every day? I think we should be fired up about God! That can look different for different groups, but I just don’t know how it can look dull and boring. Someone on our worship team recently asked me if I thought someone raising their hands in worship, or moving to the music meant they were truly worshipping. I don’t think that those actions mean a person is worshipping, but I think the absence of those actions and especially of any actions makes me wonder where the worship is because faith is more than just belief, it involves action too. If we truly love God, aren’t we living for him?

  3. Bob permalink
    March 24, 2009 11:26 am

    What the hell is this?

  4. March 30, 2009 7:40 pm

    Bob, I am not sure what you are asking about or if you are just leaving random comments. This is a personal reflection I made on regarding Easter last year. Many will not understand or agree with me. That is okay. If there is something specific you have a question about I would be happy to try to answer.

Leave a Reply

