Skip to content

Questions that can change us….

April 13, 2008

Last week I went to an amazing conference where God spoke some deep things to me, and where God healed and changed my heart. Some of that came through questions I pondered throughout the conference. If we take questions like these or the answers to them seriously I think they can have a profound impact on us.

  • What does it mean to live as a steward of the life God gave me? Am I a good steward?
  • If I were to live as if my life belongs to God would I need to make changes?
  • Do I love God enough to be willing to give him everything?
  • Am I living by God’s word and being who he has made me to be, or am I living for myself?
  • Am I willing to let God stir something up in me so he can scoop it out, use it, break it, and change it in my life?
  • Am I willing to live a life where God’s word and standards are my foundation? If I think I am already living that way are there areas I need to improve on?
  • Do I love God enough to be willing to give him everything?
  • Am I walking/acting/thinking like the person God wants you to be?
  • Am I living by God’s word? All of it, or just those parts that make me comfortable?
  • Is God’s calling forcing me to deal with my insecurities, fears, shortcomings, sin?
  • Do I hate sin enough to deal with it?

What do questions like these stir in you? Do they make you stop and really think or do you just pass over them without giving them much thought?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    April 14, 2008 5:49 am

    Wow, thought provoking, Spirit stirring questions! I have dealt with each and every one of these questions throughout the past year or so. Two words come to mind after reading this list of questions…follower (doer)or believer (hearer). James 1:22-23 comes to mind(actually that’s where I read this morning) Do we simply believe in God/Jesus as our ticket to heaven or do we want to be transformed? I referred to a sermon on my blog today that you might be interested in. I am at http://www.heartofgod.wordpress.com – come by and visit!

  2. April 14, 2008 8:54 am

    I like the reference to believer versus follower. I was just listening to a powerful sermon this morning about how we should be the church which means we must be doers. In it the pastor referred to our theology and our reality and how they must match but often in America they don’t. If we say we believe something and don’t live that out aren’t we being hypocritical or even practicing heresy? I want to be known as a person of integrity, not a person of heresy.

    Thanks for the reference to your blog and the other sermon. I will check them out.

  3. April 16, 2008 9:32 am

    Dear sherie.. wow… believer vs follower. i never really thought of that in that way. i recently went for a concert, a planetshakers concert. It was awesome, but it also made me think… I hear enough about the great commision.. it is.. afterall a comandment.. but how serious am i taking this issue? am i realy taking up my cross everyday or am i just saying it? am i really doing justice to god’s love for me or am i disappointing him?

  4. April 16, 2008 6:24 pm

    Joanna, I read about the conference and it sounds like it was great. What God is giving you eyes and ears to see and hear is exciting but also life changing. I don’t think I would describe where you are at as disappointing God, but I do think he is asking if you are willing to go further, to love him more deeply, and to live differently. He gives you the freedom to respond either way, and your answer won’t change his love because you are still his beautiful and amazing daughter. I would encourage you to take the risk though. It is amazing!

Leave a Reply

