Skip to content

Live biblically….is it possible?

April 25, 2008

Last week I had some communication with a pastor of a new church plant. He said they are trying to build a community of people who desire to live biblically, not just people who talk about it, but who actually live that way. Since that time his statement has left me with many questions.

  • What does it mean to live biblically?
  • Can a pastor guide a church culture to ensure the people live biblically?
  • If people come to the church from different denominational and church backgrounds will they have a different view of what “biblically” means?
  • Does the fact that he felt a need to clarify it was a community of people who actually live biblically communicate something about other churches?
  • What would a community like this communicate to the community? Does it change if they are successful? Unsuccessful?

Thoughts?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    April 25, 2008 6:21 pm

    Living biblically is living a life that tries to emulate that of the Christ.

    A pastor can GUIDE, but to live biblically, the individuals of the Body, must make the choice to FOLLOW.

    If people come from different views, there will undoubtably be different views of what biblical means.

    His clarification is a characteristic of a good Shepard.

    The outside community will balk at this. Those the Lord wants there, will be brought.

    What definition of success are you using?

    Have a great weekend!

    The outer community

  2. April 26, 2008 10:18 am

    I find myself really drawn toward the ideas this pastor shared, but I guess the question I have been wrestling with is…Shouldn’t all Christians and churches be seeking to live Biblically both in our actions and the way we live? I’m doing a lot of seeking God right now about where God wants me and how to live out a Christian life. After two very difficult church experiences over the last few years I am gunshy and asking a lot of questions about what Christianity is, why I don’t see Christians living like they are new creations, and why the lives of Christian’s don’t seem to be that different from others. I guess success in a church for me is seeing people from all walks of life coming together to learn about and grow in relationship and understanding of God in a way that truly changes lives.

  3. April 26, 2008 2:19 pm

    I love the concept of everyone living Biblically, and I really work at it daily…but somewhere in that thinking I sense a critical view of others…I fall into that fast enough, *sigh* I think the unity and believers all agreeing on how to live scripturally may not happen til Heaven..not sure but thanks for giving me something to think and dig on!

  4. Lori permalink
    April 26, 2008 5:25 pm

    There are a whole lot of Christians that don’t “live” the way Christ has ordained for them to live and He knew it was going to happen.

    Rev 3:16 “So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.”

  5. April 29, 2008 7:06 am

    I agree completely! NO luke warm! I just wonder sometimes if all that call themselves Christian have really met HIM, and have had that heart changing thing happen to them, or maybe they are not on the same place on their journey with HIM…I tend to be a very critical person, and God has been doing a work in my heart…OUCH! We all can fall, none of this is by our own strength, but by the Grace of God, and our choices…choosing HIM.

  6. May 5, 2008 8:33 am

    Darla, I don’t think all have met him, or at least they haven’t let it change them. I recently heard two sermons on the same scripture passage. One church smoothed over things and made it appear nice and easy, the other church addressed the hard issue of confronting sin and holding people accountable head on and the church leadership told the church body they will address sin directly even if it means people leave the church.

    When we choose the label of Christian we are representing the creator of the universe, the Lord of Lords. That is something I take very seriously. I just can’t live knowing I am doing something that grieves God’s heart without taking steps to change it.

  7. May 5, 2008 8:56 am

    Oh I agree with you! I am serious about my walk with the Lord and also serious about repentance…I do not think this walk is easy or fire insurance of any type…But I know I Love my Jesus and I do not want to be without HIM for even a second..totally dependant on HIM..and when I am not..it shows!

Leave a Reply

