Skip to content

Today’s lesson: An image of the church

May 2, 2008

I recently started driving a new route to work and on that route I pass by a local hardware store. Every morning there are non-Caucasian men gathered at each driveway to the store. I am pretty sure they are waiting for someone to come by to hire them for a days labor.

The first time I drove by I thought how sad it was to live in a suburban area and have people needing to depending on day to day work like this. However, the next time I drove by God reminded me of the Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard (Matthew 20:1-16).

Yesterday as I drove by I was thinking about the church, and how these men were representing what I see in the church.

  • At one entrance was a group that was socializing, sharing, and laughing together.
  • At the other entrance was a very small group that was gathered, but not sharing with each other.
  • To the side were several men standing alone and isolated from the groups.

My heart has grown a lot over the last few months about how to unify the church, how to build community, how to create culture, and how to gather in those who have been hurt/disillusioned/offended/broken or who have never tried the church. I am thankful that my God cares enough to show me lessons on every street corner if I will just look for them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

