Skip to content

Spring cleaning of a different kind

May 4, 2008

Set of keys

On a daily basis I carry around a keychain with four keys. Two are for my house, one for my car, and one for work. I have probably only used my house and work keys no more than a dozen times and yet I have lived in my home for several years. This is because I have electronic door openers. Even my car keys have only been used on the car doors a few times in the seven years I have owned the car due to the electronic door opener.

Recently my car remote door opener broke. The absence of that small item I have taken so for granted has left me thinking about what it is I carry through life and how useful those things are. Every day I carry around keys that I don’t need. What else do I carry (mentally, emotionally, spiritually, or physically) that I really should let go of or put away? What do I keep on my inside, or physically keep hold of that I should be letting go of? What thought patterns or beliefs do I carry that it is time to get rid of? What habits is it time to end?

I am in a new season of life with some changes that lie ahead. I guess it is time to do some purging along the way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori permalink
    May 5, 2008 8:06 am

    And what a good time to do it. I told my hubbby just the other day, I look forward to moving this last time, because I can leave behind the things that God has made me aware are offensive and not glorifying to Him. A fresh start, new beginning of sorts.

    The people that are in my future to meet, don’t know the baggage I’ve left behind – so all they will see is the “new-and-improved” version of me. I’m still a work in progress and will be for the rest of my life, but He has purged from me the majority (I think) of the world – in order for Him to shine through me to those people of my future.

    Keeping your post in mind – I’m going to go to Him to clean-out the rest of those cobwebs.

    “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting.” Psalm 139:23,24

  2. May 5, 2008 8:25 am

    I can relate to what you are saying about moving and starting over. That may be a part of my near future too, and that is exciting. It is also good though for those around you now to see the change God can do, and to see relationships and mistakes repaired. A few weeks ago I received an email from someone I have been working alongside in ministry. We have walked through some struggle learning to work together, but he has seen dramatic change in me over the last couple months. He said, “I am both inspired and intimidated that someone like you who has spent their life longing for God’s heart can still have such a miraculous moment. I’m inspired because of the power of Jesus that is reveals, but I’m intimidated because it shows how much further I have to go.”

    We all have cobwebs, messes, and things to work on, but I am learning to truly believe that I am a new creation in Christ every day. I am praying daily for God to show me those wicked ways and to stop putting that change off until tomorrow. My attitude, outlook, hope, and joy are changing by leaps and bounds through this!

Leave a Reply

