Skip to content

Managing what we are entrusted with

May 15, 2008

Card and money clip

Parable of the Talents – Matthew 25:14-30 

Several times a week I open my wallet and take out cash, a check, or a credit/debit card and use it to spend some of what I have been entrusted with here on earth. At church on Sunday we looked at the passage above. The kingdom of God is “like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them.” Is our property entrusted to us by God? If so, what would I have to present to God today if he returned? A lot more? A little more? The same? Less?

I am left to wonder how my life would be different if I asked if God wanted me to make the purchase before I spent any money. Would my life be different if I thought about the outcome of my investment every time I spent time with someone, served, ate, studied, worked, slept, watched TV, played, listened to music, etc. For the next week I am going to stop before I spend any money and ask that question. I wonder what I won’t be buying. I wonder what I am supposed to do with that money if I don’t spend it this week.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2008 10:06 pm

    What a phenomenal idea!!! Of course this idea menas I probably wont be spending anything because my answers never come quickly. I could end up a major drive through annoyance!

    Drive thru convo:

    Box Speaker: Welcome to McD’s can I take your order.

    Me: Nope, give me a while, Im waiting on an Ok from the Big Man right now. Hopefully he’ll answer soon

    Box Speaker: Mam…it’s been an hour, are you ready to order yet????

    Me: Nope still waiting, Bibles open though! I think I feel a word coming on. Crap! Its no!

  2. July 2, 2008 6:23 pm

    LOL!

    I think the point it to have the conversation with God BEFORE the one with the box speaker. 🙂

    Although I have had many of these “in the middle of the situation” conversations with God and we shouldn’t consider it to late to ask even though it is the middle of the situation. I have been known to return purchases after the fact too, even if it meant a restocking fee.

Leave a Reply

