Skip to content

Our choices show we are courageous or cowardly

May 29, 2008

Before The Cross

“Every single day we make choices that show whether we are courageous or cowardly. We choose between the right thing and the convenient thing. Sticking to a conviction or caving in for the sake of comfort, for the sake of greed, for the sake of approval. We choose to take a carefully thought-out risk or to crawl into a shrinking shell of safety, security, and inactivity.” (Bill Hybels)

Sometimes making those decisions can be costly, confusing, and scary. Other times they are exciting, joy-filled, and inspiring. The most difficult probably hold a combination of both the exciting and the scary elements.

Last week I made one of those decisions (more on that to come in a future post). It was a choice for the right thing, is risky and uncertain, and will change my life in significant ways. When I took the step to make my decision known on Sunday I was filled with uncertainty, and even as other steps have followed my emotions have felt like I have made the wrong decision, but I am certain deeper in my spirit that this is right. It is right because it is a choice for following God, a choice that will cost me something, a choice where I will have to deny myself to walk out what I feel God has called me to.

“If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life[ will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? ” (Mark 8:32-37)

Are you making choices that are courageous or cowardly? Are you choosing the convenient thing, or are you willing to do what is right even if it means denying yourself and having to take up your cross to follow?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

