Skip to content

Let go and let God? Is it truth?

May 31, 2008

“I came to realize that preachers were telling me to lay my life at the foot of the cross and they weren’t giving me anything to pick up.” (Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne)Scale

When I recently heard this (audio book) my mind returned to something a member of my home group shared recently regarding Matthew 11: 28-30. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” He pointed out that we are not supposed to just lay down our burden, but we need to take on Christ’s yoke and his burden. It is through that exchange that we find rest.

I am realizing I have been taught the belief that if we turn things over to God, he will take them away and make things easier, but as I look at scripture I am not seeing that concept.

Has the church distorted things to make this teaching seem like truth? Does scripture hold the teaching that we can “let go and let God”, or does it teach that there is always a trade – lay this down and pick this up, or give this and get that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

