Skip to content

Changing a waste into something new

July 16, 2008

A few months ago Todd asked, “Are you wasting your life?” I wasn’t prepared for the question or the answer. After taking stock of my life I realized I wasn’t doing much with my life, even if I wasn’t exactly wasting it. That left me with a choice. Do I continue down the same path or does something change?

Since I lack knowledge, wisdom, and direction about what is best for my life I turned to the one who knows me best, God. It did not happen over night, but finally I surrendered to God and asked him to lead me to the place where I could learn, grow, serve, give, and become most like Christ. I wanted him to lead me to the place where I would thrive and could give my life away in service to others.

God answered my prayer. The answer wasn’t what I expected and the process of how it all happened still has me puzzled and shaking my head at times, but the decisions have been made and the steps are in motion. In three days I will be packing up my life and moving to another state to become part of the core community of a new church that is starting. The church is aiming to live with the Bible as the standard for life, and to build their foundation on the two greatest commandments: love the Lord with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength, and love your neighbor as yourself. Sometimes I am puzzled as I reflect on the fact that these should be the foundation of every church.

I do not know what my new life will hold. I am leaving family, friends, home, history, the familiar, comforts, activities, relationships, etc. for an entire life I know nothing about. I don’t know the people I am joining, what my time and relationships will look like, or what opportunities God will bring my way. That is both scary and exciting. The opportunities that lie ahead are unending. There is nothing to hold me back from a new life that is filled with living by God’s word.

Am I wasting my life? I was, but I am stepping out in faith with a desire to change that. I want my life to touch others and to make a difference. I want to serve God and love him with all I am and all I have. I want to love others and share intentional, intimate, interrelated relationships with them. Today closes a chapter in my life, and I choose a new life, a life that is all about God and others and not about me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Delany permalink
    August 12, 2008 5:39 pm

    Sherrie:

    This is exciting news!! Thanks for the written expression of how the Lord has worked in you for the rest of us see. I don’t read blogs as often anymore, but was led to yours this evening. Every time I visit I hear a diligent searching…

    But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Heb 11:6

  2. August 12, 2008 7:40 pm

    Great to hear from you Delany. Yes, there are exciting changes going on. My move is complete and I am finally settling into my new life. Our church is just getting started, but already I am learning and am inspired to pour my life into others. It will be fun to see where God leads!

Leave a Reply

