Skip to content

If I do what I do not want to do….

August 14, 2008

“We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do-this I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. “ Romans 7:14-20

Do you ever seem to experience this battle in your life with full force? Something happens that brings thoughts and feelings up that you know are wrong, but you still have a temptation to react in a way you know will not be positive. Maybe you don’t know exactly how you should respond, but you know how you shouldn’t, yet you are tempted toward those actions.

As a Christian I need to be realistic about my sin and admit I am not perfect, however I can’t just stop there. I need to deal with my sin, and seek to live differently. I am learning to live by Biblical standards, and that means that I am taking God’s word seriously and seeking to ground my whole life and all my responses on it. Today, I find myself battling a temptation to do what I know I do not want to. In response I am reminding myself to think of others as the image of God, to believe others have good intentions, to ask what I can do in response to decisions others make that will bring glory to God, and to ask God how I can love others deeply and Biblically. I am asking God to be bigger than my emotions, feelings, thoughts, and temptations. I am asking him to change my mind from earthly, American responses to his heart and mindset.

How are you seeking to become more like Christ in light of those things you do/feel/think that you don’t want to do/feel/think? How are you living Biblically?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

