Skip to content

Renewing our minds

June 8, 2009

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. (Romans 12:2)

Last November I went to my pastor and told him that I had been a part of churches, campus fellowships, mission teams, bible studies, etc. that had taught me a lot about the Bible, but what I had failed to learn was how to really live as a Christian. I was hungry and thirsty to learn about how to apply all I knew and all I was learning. Although I have attended church all my life the church I have been attending is Oregon has really good biblical teaching and I didn’t know how to absorb all of it.

Unfortunately the new church plant didn’t have resources to assist me in this, and the pastor doesn’t have the time (nor do I believe it is his gifting) to disciple everyone regularly. So, for months I have tried to meet that need in my life, but my hunger and thirst were taking a drain on me as they were going unmet. Well, that all changed last week as I started receiving biblical discipleship from a woman in another church. What a huge blessing! We have spent several hours together now and I feel like a sponge absorbing all she is presenting to me. It is right there in the bible, but she is pulling it together and teaching me how to apply those truths so they are making a difference in my life.

Romans tells us to renew our minds. That happens by not conforming to the world, but we can’t just stop conforming on our own power, we have to replace our old thoughts, motives, attitudes, and beliefs with a scriptural answer. It is God’s word that will transform our minds and as our minds are transformed it will completely transform our behavior. I am so excited to see that happen!

If you don’t have discipleship in your life keep looking for it. It is so important and helps so much. Even if it is only an occasional meeting it can reap big benefits in your life. Blessings to you on this journey.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

