Skip to content

Living in Rebellion

June 22, 2009

Do you ever think of yourself as living in rebellion? We do it. We do it more than we realize.

The other day I had the privilege to be present when my friend was doing a daily bible lesson with her children. She wanted each of the children to memorize (at least in short term memory) the verse that was the focus for the lesson. “Those whom I love I rebuke and disciple. So be earnest and repent.” Revelation 3:19.

Her younger son had such defeated thinking that he was convinced he could not memorize it, would not get rewarded, and was going to be disciplined. He physically shrunk back and turned away from his mother and God’s word even though she was treating him with encouragement, love, confidence, and patience.

As I sat watching him I realized how often that is my approach to God. I so fear that I am not going to be able to live up to his expectations and his standards that I actually turn away and make things worse. I allow myself to engage in defeated thinking and to actually believe that I will not reap the benefits of a loving, caring, and embracing Father.

discipline-action

Don’t shrink back from his rebuke, discipline, or even his care. He is a loving father and he deeply desires a relationship with you. Be earnest and pursue after him and maybe you won’t have to be disciplined or need to repent. As for me, I am off to repent again as I haven’t learned this lesson yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

