Skip to content

A Narrow Gate

June 25, 2009

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. but small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:13-14

Do you believe that the road to God and a saving faith is wide open to any who believe, or is it a narrow road?

My entire life I have believed that Christianity is open to all who believe. This week that belief has been changing, not away from the belief I have held, but into a deeper maturity about it. I am not saved because I believe, I am saved because I believe that Christ paid a price for my sin, stood in the gap for me, and because I willingly accept the gift he paid for my life. I have come to realize the distortion in my beliefs and as I have been throwing out all I believed and starting over I have realized that as my beliefs are distorted, so are so many others.

How do we find truth? How do we get right with God? How do we move away from our hard hearts, darkened thoughts, stiff-necked ways, and truly repent and return to our faithful God?

I don’t have those answers yet, but I am in search of them more than ever before. I believe the gate is small and the road is narrow but I want with all my heart to be one of those that finds the way, God’s way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

