Skip to content

Anyone who has faith will do what I have been doing!

August 24, 2009

I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. (John 14:12)

I have been thinking about this verse for days now. As I searched online for others views on the verse I find most people pay attention to the second half of the verse and especially to the word greater. What stands out to me is the first half of the verse.

Are you a Christian? Do you have faith in Christ? If so, this verse says you WILL do what he has been doing. This expresses the same message that we hear from the book of James, faith without actions is dead. It leaves us asking the question, if we are not doing what Chris was doing are we really living as a believer, and if we are not living as a believer do we truly believe.

Believing in Christ is not the same as believing the light will come on when you flip the light switch, or believing that your paycheck will arrive when it is supposed to. Belief like that does not really take much effort or involvement on our side, we just expect it to happen. Believing in Christ means we enter into a relationship where there is give and take and where Christ will ask things of us. What he is asking of us is to live like he did, and to do the things that he did. He cared for the poor, fed the needy, healed, preached, taught, counseled, spoke truth, sacrificed, made God’s priorities first in his life, and much much more.

Are you living a life where you are doing what Christ was doing? If you believe in Christ and you are not living that way I guess I have to ask why and when you change. (Don’t worry, I am asking that same question about my life as there are areas where I am not living like it either. )

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

