Skip to content

Taking Stock of Life

August 26, 2009

I have been taking stock of life lately. As summer is nearing the end and I am looking toward the fall I am evaluating how I have spent my summer. This year there weren’t many trips, but there was a lot of other things going on. When we look back on our lives what is it that we remember? What is it that stands out?

Every year I could count the number of hours I sleep, work, take care of daily needs, etc. I could reflect on the trips I took, the parties I went to, the social events I attended. Those are all good things, but I am starting to look at life differently and to ask:

  • How much time did I spend in relationship with God? (prayer, bible study, etc.)
  • How much time did I spend serving and loving on others?
  • How much time did I spend learning more about how to be a Christian and how to live well?
  • How much time did I invest in helping others grow toward a relationship with God?
  • How many times did I tell others about God?
  • How many times did I poorly represent God through my words, actions, attitudes, and interactions?
  • How many of my resources (money, belongings, etc.) did I share with others? Do I consider them my resources or God’s?
  • How much of my time did I allow God to lead?
  • How many opportunities did I say no to or leave neglected because my heart was unwilling to go where God wanted me to?
  • How many times did I overlook what God was doing?
  • How honest have I been about the sin in my life and walked in true repentance?
  • How many times have I told others I would do something and didn’t do it?
  • How many times have my words or actions hurt others?
  • How many relationships have I left unresolved where I have been unwilling to forgive, reconcile, and love?
  • What haven’t I returned to others that I borrowed from them?

Are we asking the right questions when we take stock of life? Whose life are we taking stock of……our life, or the life of God’s servant?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

