Skip to content

What the Christian faith is all about. Why did you believe?

September 14, 2009

Abraham Lincoln went to a slave market.  There he noted a young, beautiful African-American woman being auctioned off to the highest offer.  He bid on her and won.

He could see the anger in the young woman’s eyes and could imagine what she was thinking, another white man who will buy me, use me, and then discard me. 

As Lincoln walked off with his “property,” he turned to the woman and said, “You’re free.”

“Yeah. What does that mean?” She replied.

“It means that you’re free.”

“Does that mean I can say whatever I want to say?”

“Yes,” replied Lincoln, smiling, “it means you can say whatever you want to say.”

“Does it mean,” she asked incredulously, “that I can be whatever I want to be?”

“Yes, you can be whatever you want to be.”

“Does it mean,” the young woman asked hesitantly, “that I can go wherever I want to go?”

“Yes, it means to you are free and can go wherever you want to go.”

“Then,” said the young woman with tears welling up in her eyes, “I think I’ll go with you.”

That is what God has done for us.  That is what the Christian faith is all about.  We have been bought with the price, the price of God’s own son.  We now have a new master, one who, once he paid the price, set us free.
(Quoted from A Scandalous Freedom by Steve Brown, 2004, p12-13)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

