Skip to content

Unbelief transformed

November 30, 2009

Mark 9 tells of a boy’s father who realized that he did not have the faith he needed to believe Christ. It was not that he didn’t want to believe, but he lacked faith and needed help for his faith to grow. He called out to Christ in the midst of this and exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. This is why “it was credited to him as righteousness.” The words “it was credited to him” were written not for him alone, but also for us, to whom God will credit righteousness—for us who believe in him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead. He was delivered over to death for our sins and was raised to life for our justification. (Romans 4:18-25)

Many in the bible were blessed, equipped, anointed, and used because of their belief. Just a few are Abraham, the centurion (Mark 8), the disciples, and members of the early church in Acts. Chapter 11 of Hebrews names off some of those who lived by faith: Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Moses, Rahab. These people knew what it was to live and have faith in God in powerful ways. Their lives were changed because of their belief.

Now, brothers, I want to remind you of the gospel I preached to you, which you received and on which you have taken your stand. By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain. (1 Corinthians 15:1-2)

The gospel continues to change my life and lead me further on the path of righteousness. I hope some day others will be able to look back on my life and say that my life was one of faith and belief. Over the last few months I have realized that instead my life was marked by areas of unbelief where I was not trusting in God and was not holding firmly to the Word that I knew was truth and life. Yesterday I took another big step forward in my faith as I chose to let my past become my past. Because I am a new creation in Christ my past does not hold power over my life when I live in repentance and right relationship with Christ. I can certainly choose to pick it up and let it control and define me but with Christ I don’t need to. If my eyes and heart are truly focused on him then I have no need to pick up my past. Today I am living in freedom, in hope, and in promise of a new and exciting future.

I have never looked forward to the Christmas season more than I do this year as I am living a free and transformed life more than ever before. The truth of what Christ’s gift and life means to me has truly touched and changed my life now and I am learning to celebrate and rejoice in that every day. Thank you God for a new life, one that only you can give!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

