Skip to content

Nazarites

December 11, 2009

Have you ever heard about the Nazarites? I have read about them, but it went in one ear and out the other. I have however known stories about those who lived as Nazarites, people fully devoted to God. The three most well known Nazarites were Samson, Samuel, and John the Baptist. Their entire life was devoted to God.

Nazarites and their vows are described in Numbers 6:1-21 and Judges 13:7. Some view them as separated or dedicated to the Lord, however there is a distinction between making a vow to be dedicated to God through giving things up, and making a special vow of consecration to the Lord. It comes down to a heart issue. There is a difference between giving something up or being separated, and pursuing something. The pursuit of holiness is being consecrated to service for the Lord and therefore being separated from the common world.

There are three main components of a Nazarite vow:

  1. Diet
  2. Appearance
  3. Associations

The vow of being a Nazarite is not something we see in the world today. It is not something churches talk about or teach on, and I have not heard of anyone living a Nazarite vow as a lifestyle devotion such as Samson, Samuel, and John. Can we still learn from this concept that can be utilized today? Are there things we can do with our diet, appearance, and associations that would demonstrate our devotions to the Lord? Are there vows we can make for short periods of time that demonstrate this and move us closer to holiness?

I am a part of a new ministry/church that will launch in a few weeks. I am very excited about it, but the impact and responsibility of what I am about to do is ever at the forefront of my mind. Over the next few weeks as the launch approaches I am seeking to approach God with a heart that is choosing to pursue his holiness and be consecrated for his service. I am still praying about how changes in my diet, appearance, and associations can and will change, but my heart has already changed to approach this time not as a time of giving up, but as a time of pursuing, pressing in, hoping, praying, and dedicating myself, my future, and my ministry to the Lord for his glory. I am not sure I am making a vow like the Nazarites, but I am seeking to move toward a devoted life that is pursuing holiness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 7:09 pm

    We too desire to pursue the things of God, holiness and following the Nazarite life. We would like to hear about your victories and struggles as the Lord leads you on your journey.
    Dennis and Karen Elder

Leave a Reply

