Skip to content

When The Lord Gets Hold of Your Life

February 23, 2010

The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners. (Isaiah 51:1)

The last few months have been an incredible time of healing, growth, hope, life, renewal, and direction for me. Nine months ago I hit bottom and in my despair I cried out to God for help in my unbelief. I had been held captive and lived in darkness and disillusionment for almost five years after being abused and receiving poor counsel. I had a wrong image of God, not really understanding his character, his heart, and believing he was small and unable to change my life. Over these last months God has been renewing me and putting the pieces together. I have come to a place of confidence, contentment, and peace. I have come to know God intimately and personally in ways I have never known him before. Scripture has come alive and daily changes my life as I study it and live by it. It has been a long journey because even after I found freedom I wanted to immediately start running but I needed to take the time to learn to crawl, toddle, walk, skip, jog, etc. I finally am approaching the place to run and I am so excited!

I’ve been thinking about what changes when the Lord gets hold of your life. The truth is, everything changes. We become new creations when we have a relationship with the Lord. He takes our past and transforms it. Sometimes that transformation happens quickly. Other times it is slow. In my journey it involved being derailed for a time, but coming back with great hope and strength.

When the Lord gets hold of your life you want to live differently. You want to live for him. Christ called the disciples, asking them to follow. They left all they knew to follow. He asks the same of us. He has a mission, and asks us to live by following that mission and starting a movement.

As the Lord has gotten hold of my life, He has given me a passion to work with those that are disillusioned, lost, and struggling in their faith. I have walked that path and know the pain of it, but I also know the incredible joy of being restored and returning to God and the church after being disillusioned. I am seeking God and praying about how to start a ministry that will help others on this journey and that will train and provide resources to church leaders so they can better help and care for those who are disillusioned. Statistics show that people are leaving our churches and leaving Christianity. Now is the time to step up and make a difference.

If you have a passion for working with the disillusioned or equipping others to work with them I would love to hear from you either through this blog or you can contact me at restoringtheheart (at) verizon dot net.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

