Skip to content

Fighting Fiercely

March 9, 2010

I have a regular habit, okay daily habit if I get the chance, of hitting the snooze button on my alarm clock. Mornings are not my favorite time of day. I awake slowly and need some time to focus and find myself. Over the last few years I have learned to focus that time to make sure my day starts out with a focus on God.

After my alarm goes off my first thoughts now turn to God. that took training and discipline to develop. I now ask the Lord to speak into my life, to be present with me for the upcoming day, and to show me areas where I need his guidance, leadership, and wisdom. I turn my heart and mind toward him before my feet ever hit the floor. It has made a huge difference in my life.

This morning, before I could even get a thought into my head other than stopping the obnoxious alarm that was screaming at me the Lord spoke to me. As the alarm stopped blaring I clearly heard the Lord say he would fight fiercely for me. Once I was awake enough to realize what I heard my thoughts shifted to “Why? Do I need you to fight for me?”

Of course I need the Lord to fight for me. We all need him to fight for us.

My heart has been aching more and more for the lost and needy in my community. We often think of the poor, the homeless, and the hungry as being needy, but in this age and with our economic problems there are so many that are emotionally, spiritually, and relationally need and hurting. There are people who have been affected by some trauma in their life, and their feelings toward themselves, trust of others, and view of God may have all been affected.

These people need someone to fight fiercely for them.

This morning I was assured that the Lord is fighting fiercely for  me. Now it is my turn to go into the community to fight fiercely for my neighbors. To show them love, grace, mercy, and compassion.

I choose to be one of those that will fight fiercely for them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

