Skip to content

Do you justify?

July 16, 2010

 What is it that shapes you and changes you to be more like Christ?

This is often called sanctification. What is it that sanctifies you?  Sometimes we run from those situations.

Maybe it is your marriage. Maybe it is your children. Maybe it is some aspect of your job, and your need to live under company policies and processes. For many of us, driving can become a situation that sanctifies us.

Today on the way to work, I encountered one of those moments. Something occurred that has some of those gray areas, depending on your perspective. I knew as the situation rolled out that things might go a little south. I continued carefully to make sure no one would be physically injured, but there still were traffic laws that may have been broken. I admit it, I think I was in the wrong.

The other driver involved had an open window and they moved their arm outside to point at me accusingly. My reaction was to immediately feel justified in my actions. My emotions moved to anger, frustration, defensiveness, excuses, and justifying my decisions. I was convinced they did not understand, and their expectations were incorrect. It only took a few moments before I realized what I was doing.

The facts of the first situation no longer mattered, my reaction now created a new situation and my response was not correct.

I needed a change of heart. I needed to receive what the other person communicated, regardless of how they communicated it, and openly receive the response. I needed to take an honest look at my behavior. I needed to take responsibility. Thankfully I was able to do that, and very quickly my response was different.

Where do you justify your reactions? What is it you need to let go of so you can change?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

