Skip to content

Change leads to risk leads to change leads to risk

July 29, 2010

Change comes.

We may not always be ready, but it comes.

A year ago I was in a new town without a job, without a church, without friends. Change had come. Nothing I had done had prepared me, but change still came.

Most of us are not ready when change comes, yet we still have a choice. How will we respond when change comes?

Will you run? Will you hide? Will you endure? Will you roll with the punches? Will you enjoy the ride? Will you jump on board and take the risk?

Change leads us to a place of choice, a place where we can choose to risk.

I made that choice last year. I risked by agreeing to work a youth retreat with someone I had just met in a coffee shop. Now, he and many of his friends are cherished friends in my life. Through that retreat I met others who were planting a church. I risked by agreeing to join them in that work. Through that retreat I met a lady who spoke of human trafficking and community service. My heart was stirred and I sought opportunities to serve and connect into these causes. I now have dedicated my life and ministry to needs such as these. I made a choice to start life over in a town I did not know. Now I have more connections, vision, focus, and purpose than ever before.

Recently friends from California whom I had never met face-to-face stopped by and spent the night during a road trip north. This week new friends joined me for dinner. I learned that this couple separately knew different friends of mine from college. One of those friends lives in Los Angeles, the other in Thailand. Yesterday, a group of people I don’t know (but helped) reached a fundraising goal to build a well for clean water in Africa. These all happened because change came, an opportunity came, and we took the risk.

In my life change came, it led me to a point of making a choice to take a risk. That risk led to a place of changes in my life. Those changes have led me to more risk.

It is a cycle. It is always changing.

Have you stepped off the track and chosen not to risk? There is always a place to get back into the circle. The next time change comes, and it will come, take the risk.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 3:14 pm

    Change and risk are common themes for each of us in this season, Sherie. Thank you for this reflection. It was not that long ago when change would literally catapult me into ‘fear’ and ‘despair’. My brain needed not only stability but control. Once that balance was shaken off course, panic and fear would take hold.

    That was until I learned to trust God. Oh, yes, fear tries to creep in. He is an old friend and likes to hang out with me. But God does not welcome fear in my heart any longer. The Holy Spirit is quick to kick him to the curb. There is no room for fear and faith to reside together, so I choose faith.

    As I’ve continued to delight in the Lord and bring glory to him in the things I’ve seen and those things He’s done in my own life, I am more acute to the work of His hand in this season of change. He provided a warning that change was coming. How will I respond? With fear or with trust? We know the Lord moves His people, as you’ve testified to here. In your obedience, His provision has been great. I’ve experienced the same thing and witnessed how He swiftly came in and met every need. He worked in the hearts of others which ultimately opened doors He intended for me to walk through. He’s just amazing.

    Yes, letting go is definitely more difficult than remaining in my comfort zone. Afterall, I feel safe there. I am in the process of looking at all these things too. What are the risks? If I believe God’s promises, I risk nothing. The only risk I take is when I allow fear to return where he is not welcome.

    Just my own reflections as I am faced with some huge choices in the upcoming days.

    Love you dearly!

    Cherie

    ~ ೋღ B L E S S I N G S ღೋ ~ “If the Lord delights in a man’s way, He makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with His hand.” ~ Psalms 37:23-24 ღೋ “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” ~ Jeremiah 29:11 ✞

Leave a Reply

