Skip to content

The Cost is Too Much!

August 5, 2010

They were just going about their day. Working as usual. Their time outside kept them fresh and attentive. They enjoyed working with their hands. This was the life they knew. This was the future they expected. A moment later…

As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.” At once they left their nets and followed him. (Matthew 4:18-20)

What would it be like if Jesus happened by your desk, cubicle, office, counter, door, or car today?

With only a few words could he convince you to leave everything? Would you just walk away and follow?

I want to say yes, but honestly I have my doubts.

Wouldn’t I first want to take care of something, call someone, leave a message, send a text…..something?

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33

Seek first? First? Before anything else?

I am sorry Lord, I am certain I am not doing that.

I want to. I honestly do.

Too often I get caught in thinking about the cost. The end of Luke 14 tells us about that cost. “And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.” (v27)

Maybe I have looked at the cost wrong. Maybe I can change.

The cost really isn’t about what I might want to take care of first, or what I may not be able to do.

The greatest cost is what I miss out on when I don’t come, follow, seek first, carry my cross, and be his disciple.

I can’t afford that cost any longer. The price is just too, too much!

No comments yet

Leave a comment