Skip to content

We Don’t Want Blessings, We Want You

November 8, 2010

This past weekend I had the privilege to serve as prayer support for a college student retreat. My role at the retreat was only to pray and take photographs. This is actually the third retreat I have done this year where I have served in this capacity, and I absolutely love doing it. It focuses my prayer life and really connects me to what is going on with others at the retreat.

While praying Friday night I was responding to a question posed by the speaker.

If you could ask Jesus for anything right now, what would you ask?

I knew it wouldn’t be about me, because my heart and focus was on the students and staff. I prayed that we would really see God move during the weekend, and that I would see him clearly. As I started to pray it, I felt like it was a good, solid, unselfish request.

What came next took me by surprise.

“That’s all you want, is to just see me? Don’t you want to be with me? Don’t you want to share with me”

I realized how often my thoughts and prayers limit what the Lord can do in and around me.

At the conference we sang a song that was new to me. Open Up the Sky by Deluge. Many parts of the song touched me, but especially this one line which connected back to what I had felt during prayer.

“We don’t want blessings, we want You”

What is it you want out of your relationship with the Lord? Do you want blessings? Do you want him? Are you somewhere in between?

Our beloved Father, please come down and meet us
We are waiting for Your touch
Open up the heavens, shower down your presence
We respond to Your great love

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, We want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Our beloved Jesus, we just wanna see You
In the glory of Your light.
Earthly things don’t matter, They just fade and shatter
When we’re touched by love divine.

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, we want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Here we go, let’s go to the throne
The place that we belong, right into His arms

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 6:05 pm

    Beautiful message and song!! Ah that we would “seek first His kingdom” and His presence…and God will take care of the rest!

    Blessings,
    Jim

  2. Jen permalink
    January 10, 2011 4:14 am

    Hi there.. I absolutely loved this song.. until I was convicted.. why would I declare that I do not want blessings??

    Blessings
    Jen

    • January 10, 2011 12:12 pm

      Jen, I absolutely agree. It is not that we don’t want blessings. What I hope we want and I believe the Lord wants us to have are the blessings that come from the relationship and sharing with him, not just the blessings themselves. There are people who want only the benefits they believe will come from being a Christian (peace, joy, prosperity, security, identity), and not the entire relationship and all it brings. Thank you for calling out the fact that we need to be certain of the theology and message in our music, even when it is a Christian song. Declaring things like “We don’t want blessings” can have very negative effects on our faith, our spiritual life, and our community. The enemy is sly and deceptive. It is so important to pay attention to what we say, even if the heart behind it is good.

      • Jen permalink
        January 11, 2011 3:30 am

        Absolutely Sherie, and he so desires intimacy with us and wants to pour out so many blessings into our lives. So many of us think that we need to be without to be pleasing to Him, but that is not so.. He want to give us all that we need and yes he even wants to give us things that we would just like. He is our Father and he wants to spoil us. That is just so amazing. And yet we block the flow by making declarations without actually thinking through what we are saying.
        I want You Jesus and everything that you have for me!!!!!!!!!!! EVERYTHING!!

  3. Joel permalink
    January 31, 2011 6:56 pm

    “I don’t want blessings, I want you”. That phrase has to be one of the dumbest I have ever heard in a Christian song! Can anyone point to a single place in scripture where a godly person ever told the Lord they did not want his blessings? Of course not, because God expresses his gifts and character and love through his blessings.

    I like the rest of the song, but that particular phrase for me is a show-stopper.

    • February 2, 2011 10:28 pm

      Joel, there are different ways to look at what is being said here. As I said in response to another comment, what I hope we want and I believe the Lord wants us to have are the blessings that come from the relationship and sharing with him, not just the blessings themselves. I am not saying I don’t want blessings, but I want more than just the blessings, I want the relationship and would take it even without the blessings.

Leave a Reply

