Skip to content

The Wrong Reasons, or the Right Ones

January 10, 2011

This coming year may be the busiest year of my life. I haven’t intentionally sought out the things filling my calendar. Some of them have actually found me, and others have presented themselves and I have made a choice to step through the door to see where it goes.

We never know what lies on the other side of the door, but we are in charge of the choices we make. We always have the ability to choose.

In November I sat down with a friend for a face-to-face time. It was one of those precious conversations that there never seem to be enough of in life. A time of truth, honesty, transparency, and openness. Words were shared, that brought encouragement and hope.

We need conversations like that in our lives. They bring life to us.

We are made to share with others.

In that conversation my friend held me accountable. He expressed concern that I might be overextended, and that I might be involved in some of the activities I had said “yes” to for the wrong reasons. I am so thankful for accountability in my life. There are few who are willing to openly share advice and concern like this.

After a lot of soul-searching I can honestly say I have not said “yes” for the wrong reasons. I have not said yes because of my ego, or my quest for identity. I have not said yes because I am avoiding something or trying to make something out of less. I have not said yes because I am unable to deal with something else.

I have said yes because I genuinely care about, want to be a part of, and feel called to each area. I have said yes because of what the Lord has done in my life. I have said yes, because there is a treasure worth all I have to give. I am trusting the Lord to give me what I need to follow through with all I need to keep those commitments.

Hard work lies ahead. I already know that my plate is full, and that as I walk into 2011, I will have to choose. This year….

I will have to choose what is best, instead of just what is good.

I will have to choose to do what is right, instead of just doing some right things.

I will have to choose people over programs.

I will have to choose faith over doubt.

I will have to choose risk over comfort.

What does this year hold for you? Are you ready to take some new risks and try something new? Are there things you are saying yes to, for the right reasons?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

