Skip to content

Holes in My Gospel and Thinking

March 13, 2011

I am in the midst of reading The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Stearns (President of World Vision). At the beginning of the book he tells a story of Jim Wallis, founder of Sojourners Magazine. While at Divinity school he and some of this classmates cut out every Bible passage and verse that dealt with poverty, wealth, justice, and oppression. They were left with a Bible that was full of holes.

Other authors such as Tony Compolo (http://redletterchristians.org) and Tom Davis (http://blog.beliefnet.com/redletters/) have also inspired and called Christians to live out a biblically based faith that matches scripture.

As I have been reflecting on Stearns story and message I am left considering how closely my life matches with scripture. Are there parts of scripture that I know but refuse to align my life with?

  • Do I hold other things as a “god” in my life above the Lord?
  • Do I keep the sabbath holy?
  • Do I take a day to rest my body, mind, and spirit?
  • Do I follow where the Lord leads, or do I make my plans and ask the Lord to bless them?
  • Am I living a call to “go and do likewise” (Luke 10:37 NIV) and to “go and make disciples (Matthew 28:19 NIV)?
  • “If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person?” (1 John 3:17)
  • Is my heart turned to other things besides the Lord? “If our hearts condemn us, we know that God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything” (1 John 3:20)

I want to live a life based on truth, on scripture, and on God’s wisdom. It is hard to swallow how far I have to go, but I am thankful that God is forgiving and patient, caring more about who I am becoming than who I am today.

If you cut out everything in the Bible you do not believe or are not willing to apply in your life, would your Bible be full of holes?

What is it we are not willing to believe and/or apply?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

