Skip to content

Struggling to Understand Grace

May 2, 2011

G R A C E

GRACE

AMAZING GRACE

It is a word I have heard many times in life, but to be honest, I don’t understand it.

That is kind of hard to admit. As a Christian, especially one in leadership, I feel like it is something I should understand. But…sadly, I don’t.

Grace.

Such a small word, but such a big concept.

I belong to a movement of people called, People of the Second Chance. We believe in unleashing radical grace, liberating love, and overthrowing judgment. A group of members of this movement are part of something called the Grace Mob. We reach out to others in need of love, encouragement, hope, and grace. Many times this takes the form of words through email, twitter, or cards, but occasionally we find practical ways we can assist someone in need.

I love what the group does, but I honestly wonder how much of it is about grace. I think a lot of what we practice is really just love and compassion. It has left me wondering if I really understand grace.

If I don’t understand grace, then how can I unleash it toward others?

If I don’t understand grace, then how can I accept it from Christ?

Grace is defined in dictionaries as: 1) favor or good will, 2) a manifestation of favor, especially by a superior, 3) mercy; clemency; pardon,  4) favor shown in granting a delay or temporary immunity. 5) the freely given, unmerited favor and love of God. 6) moral strength

Mercy, pardon, unmerited favor. . . . How is this different than love and compassion?
This week I have accepted a challenge to *BE* an active demonstration of love and grace to the people in my life. I am faced with constant ways that I can love others and demonstrate that in tangible and radical ways, but grace. Glorious, wonderful, amazing grace.
How can we demonstrate grace?
How can we understand grace?
How can we teach grace to others and encourage them to also be people that live and demonstrate grace?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

