Skip to content

Designed to…

August 20, 2011

When we meet someone new, one of the first things we share about ourselves is our name. Each week at my church we stand and greet each other saying our name and listening to the names of those seated around us.

Our name is part of our identity. It is something that travels with us through life. Some people change their name, become known by a nickname, or choose to be known by their middle name instead of their first name, yet we all have names.

We also all have a purpose. If we talk with others in a social setting for more than just a few moments one of the very common questions is what do you do for living. Are you a teacher, a manager, a pastor, support staff, a sales person, a paper pusher, or a stay at home parent. There is something (maybe multiple things) that we spend the majority of our time doing. These shape us, but are they who we are?

I am in the process of looking for a new job.

In that process, a lot of time is spent thinking about and talking to others about what you do for a living, what you enjoy doing, what type of a job you want, and what you were designed to do.

What do I do for a living? I am a project manager.

The answer to what I am designed to do is very different. What I am designed to do is revealed in how I do my job as a project manager. 

I am an obstacle mover, an equipper, a motivator.
I turn ideas into reality.
I see problems as opportunities.
I help others do the best they can do.
I open doors, empower miracles, and move mountains.
I  create, dream, lead, launch, drive, remove, confront, move, comfort, guide, point, give, support, and release.

We are created by God, and he has designed us with a purpose. We have been designed to do something. The first thing each of us is created to do is glorify God. We do that through different means, but each of us can bring him glory.

I am learning that when we live out what we are designed to do, that is what brings God the most glory.

In my day job, I am a project manager. In other roles through volunteer and ministry work, I am still an obstacle mover, equipper, and motivator. I thrive when I help others do the best they can do. I work to open doors, empower miracles in others lives, and move mountains.  I live a life of action where I create, dream, lead, launch, drive, remove, confront, move, comfort, guide, point, give, support, and release.

It looks different in my different roles, but I am designed to love, launch, and lead others.

What are you designed to do? Are you living it out in your job, your home, your family, your friendships, your service, your relationships, your life? 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

