Skip to content

What do you give to someone who has all they need?

October 5, 2012

I remember the day I wrestled with the question….

What do you give to someone who has all they need?

My thoughts at that time were about finding a Christmas gift for my dad, someone who was hard to buy for. He did not have many interests outside of work and time with family, and I, being the person I am, wanted to get him something with meaning.

What do you give to someone who has the ability to get or purchase all want and need?
Is there anything I could give that would be meaningful?

Those questions have changed my life.

Not because of finding a Christmas gift for my dad, but because the questions were about to transform my life and relationship with God.

I love God, and I want to share with Him. Because I love Him, I want to give something to Him or serve Him. I can love and serve people by doing kind acts, purchasing them gifts, or doing and saying special things.

How do I demonstrate to God that I love Him?

What can I give to Him that is meaningful? After all, He is the creator of the universe and all it holds!

As I wrestled through my thinking that day I came up with one key turning point … If I truly love someone, I start loving what they love.

So started my journey of learning to love what God loved. First, I had to figure out what he loved most. It didn’t take long to realize that what He is most passionate about and loves the most is us!

This began a journey of learning what it means to love God and love others with all I am, a journey of giving my life away.

Today, that journey has led to a trip to the other side of the world. A trip where I will be working with ladies who have experienced great loss, pain, and trauma due to human trafficking. A trip where I am committed to learn about making a difference against injustice and standing up for what is right.

On the plane ride, I have been reading Christine Caine’s new book, Undaunted. Christine and her husband have started an organization called A21 that is rescuing girls, and hopes to provide a place of safety and recovery for them. Christine shares of a time when she met a group of survivors, and they asked.

Why are you here?

Why didn’t you come sooner?

Those questions are what will be on my heart and mind tomorrow as we have the opportunity to meet some of these ladies.

Will they trust me? Why haven’t I done more to help them?

There is no time like the present to start.

For today, the only answer I have is that I am here now and I want to do my best to give God what he wants most, for me to love on these ladies and others I meet with all I have available.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

