Skip to content

Moving beyond our brokenness

April 13, 2009

I have had the wonderful opportunity over the last week or two to engage in deep conversation with some fantastic people. It is something I have been craving and it has been both enlightening and life giving. One of the things I realize when I talk deeply with others is how every one of us carries wounds, fears, attitudes that limit us and keep us from being who God made us to be. I receive so many daily reminders of how this world wants to define what is right and wrong and how I am acceptable. When I listen I feel downcast and lost. I become very aware of my brokenness.

Yesterday I was able to spend some deep quality time with an amazing lady who is seeking to try to live a God centered life while also being actively involved in relationship with sinners and unbelievers. It takes a toll on her, and she needed some time with people who would fill her back up, encourage her in her walk with God, and to focus her back on God’s truth. Talking with her reminded me how all of have things in life that take us away from our mission and who God is creating us to be.

A friend reminded me last week that when we take our eyes off of Jesus and look at anything else (man, things, beliefs, theology, actions, etc.) we loose focus and we will falter. Every time we are tempted to sin, to dwell on our brokenness, or to stray in any way we need to bring God back to the central focus. As I am currently walking through a difficult situation where I have caused tensions and struggles for someone else I am faced with all sorts of emotions, temptations to act in sinful ways, and thoughts that don’t match God’s heart. He reminds me that if we call ourselves Christian we have chosen to wear a title to which he gives a high significance. With that  title comes a responsibility to bear it well and to live up to the standard it presents. As a Christian I have a responsibility to behave according to that standard. I may feel broken, wounded, angry, or shameful; I may desire to lash out, run away, or have a negative attitude: I may desire to think mean thoughts, doubt others, or minimize someone else but God reminds me that my brokenness was already taken care of.

My job is to seek first God’s kingdom and to love him with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength. “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning it’s shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. ” (Hebrews 12:2)

May your focus today be on the only one who truly deserves it!

No comments yet

Leave a comment